The Trust

The Savoy Theatre is operated by The Monmouth Savoy Trust (Charity Reg: 1136359)

The aims and objectives are to manage and maintain the theatre as the premiere entertainment venue for Monmouth and surrounding areas.

The Savoy is privately owned by the MacTaggart family. Grandfather B.T Davies was a collector of cinemas and at one stage owned nineteen around the South West and South Wales. The Savoy is the only one left in the family’s ownership. They lease the building to the Monmouth Savoy Trust which comprises a group of local enthusiasts who have come together to run, maintain and programme the building.

Although the Savoy has predominately been used as a cinema for the last hundred years, it was clearly built as a theatre and therefore the present Trust believe that there should be a healthy mix of films and live entertainment.

The Trust relies on volunteers who help to run both cinema and live shows. Help is need on publicity, staffing the bar and kiosk, ushering and another front of house duties. It is an enjoyable job and there are special events, training and social evenings specifically held for volunteers. The minimum commitment is one day a month. If you are interested in helping out regularly in any capacity please talk to a member of staff or email your details to the theatre on [email protected]

The Patrons of the Savoy are renowned children’s author JULIA DONALDSON MBE  entertainer and astrologer RUSSELL GRANT, actor, broadcaster and writer SIR TONY ROBINSON and comedian and broadcaster GRIFF RHYS JONES.

The present Trustees are:

Jane Harvey(Chair), Barbara Spence, Dave Andrews, Ruth Sinfield, Guthrie McGruer, Hywel Rees, Geoff Quinn, Keith Davies and Lin Waters.

The Savoy Trust employs four permanent staff:

Chris Ryde: Director of the Trust & General Manager

Mike Harrold: Cinema Manager / Website / Projectionist.

Juliette Strefford: Projectionist/Box Office/Admin (part time)

Chris WhiteheadProjectionist/Box Office/Admin (full time)


Sarah James: Technical Manager (freelance)

© Savoy Theatre. All rights reserved.